The Indianapolis Literary Club

Mr. Secretary
Exercises - 2016-2017
Mr. Secretary
Essays Club Year 2016-2017
Essays Club Year 2015-2016
Essays Club Year 2014-2015
Essays Club Year 2013-2014
Essays Club Year 2012-2013
Essay Club Year 2011-2012
Essays Club Year 2010-2011
Essay Club Year 2009-2010
Essay Club Year 2008-2009
Essay Club Year 2007-2008
Indiana Historical Records
Annual Report
In Memoriam
Club Year
Literary Clubs in the US

David G. Vanderstel, Secretary
9131 S. Greenridge Lane
Bloomington, Indiana 47401

22 April 2017


Another Club year is nearly over. The next meeting of the Indianapolis Literary Club will be Monday 1 May 2017 at 8:00 p.m. when members are invited to bring their ladies to the spring session of Ladies' Night. Make your way to the Wood Room of the Upper School at Park Tudor School to hear essayist Giles R. Hoyt read his essay "The Hoosier Author You've Never Heard of and Likely with Good Reason."

I am of old and young, of the foolish as much as the wise;
Regardless of others, ever regardful of others,
Maternal as well as paternal, a child as well as a man,
Stuff'd with the stuff that is coarse, and stuff'd with the stuff that is fine;...
A boatman over lakes or bays, or along coasts, a Hoosier, Badger, Buckeye;
At home on Kanadian snow-shoes, or up in the bush, or with fisherman off
At home in the fleet of ice-boats, sailing with the rest and tacking.
American poet Walt Whitman (1819-1892), "Leaves of Grass"

At the beginning of the last meeting, President Stephen Towne offered his personal welcome to all members and guests, including newly elected member Richard Turner. Treasurer Richard Wiehe reported that the Club remains in sound financial condition.

In compliance with the Club's Constitution, President Towne invited First Vice President Henry Winckler to present the slate of officers and committee members for the 2017-2018 Club year:

President Henry L. Winckler
1st Vice President James E. Lingenfelter, Jr.
2nd Vice President William J. Doherty
3rd Vice President Rozelle Boyd
Treasurer Richard E. Wiehe
Secretary David G. Vanderstel
Assistant Secretary Antwain K. Hunter
Webmaster John F. Sweeney
Assistant Webmaster Marvin J. Miller
Soundmaster D. David Kriplen
Assistant Soundmaster Paul R. Halvorson
Foundation Trustee Stephen E. Towne (2017/18-2019/20)

Standing Committees: 

On Nominations of Officers and Members:
James E. Lingenfelter, Jr., Chair
Richard D. Feldman
James A. Glass
Giles R. Hoyt
Eugene W. Lausch
Kenneth V. McGinity

On Arrangements and Exercises:
William J. Doherty, Chair
Nyle Kardatzke
Hugh Moore
Christopher Smith

On Rooms and Finance:

Rozelle Boyd, Chair
Frederick W. Farrell
Thomas K. Krasean
Alan D. Schmetzer
Richard M. Tempero

Foundation Trustee:
Stephen E. Towne, 2017/18-2019/20

A motion was made and seconded. The Club voted unanimously by voice vote to accept the slate. Congratulations to all, and thank you for your service to this great literary club!

Essayist Stephen K. Smith then presented his essay "The Gates of It Shall Not Be Shut by Day." The essay explored the life and contributions of Oscar Carleton McCullough, pastor at Plymouth Church in Indianapolis. Essayist Smith discussed the "social gospel" ministry of McCullough in the city and also examined his controversial analysis of a group of impoverished residents known as the "Tribe of Ishmael," which placed him among the leaders of the emerging eugenics movement of the late 19th century. A lively discussion followed.

The Secretary wishes to remind all members that the Annual and Inaugural Dinner meeting is scheduled for Wednesday 10 May 2017 at Woodstock Club.


Place: Woodstock Club
1301 W. 38th Street, Indianapolis
Date: Wednesday 10 May 2017
Time: Cocktails at 6:00 pm (cash bar)
Dinner at 7:00 pm
Program celebrating 140 years at 8:00 pm
Dress: Black tie is traditional; attendance and fellowship are more important.
Cost: $40.00 

You must RSVP for this event. To do so, please send your payment of $40.00 no later than Saturday 6 May to Club Treasurer Richard Wiehe, 2435 Glenhill Drive, Indianapolis, IN 46240. It is essential to have your RSVP in order to guarantee our reservations for this event. Should last minute changes be necessary, you may contact the Secretary via email at Do not call Woodstock Club regarding this event! A reminder to all new members that this event is for members only - no spouses or significant others.

The Secretary also reminds members that slots are still available to read an essay during the next Club year. Essays should be approximately 30-40 minutes in length and may address the topic of the essayist's choice. Please contact the Secretary by the end of May if you wish to present and provide a "properly obscure" title and preferred month(s) for the presentation. The schedule will be drafted in late May/early June.

The next meeting of the Club is Monday 1 May 2017 at 8:00 p.m. when Giles R. Hoyt will present his essay "The Hoosier Author You've Never Heard of and Likely with Good Reason." If you have a copy of the three volume reference work, Indiana Authors and Their Books, you might be able to investigate the topic of this essay. There are so many possible writers, so the Secretary has no clue about the topic. Therefore, the Secretary strongly recommends that you attend this last regular meeting of the Club to find out what essayist Hoyt has in mind. And make sure that you invite your lady to attend the meeting. Hope to see you there!

One word more, I beseech you. If you be not too much cloyed
with fat meat, our humble author will continue the story, with
Sir John in it, and make you merry with fair Katharine of France;
Where, for anything I know, Falstaff shall die of a sweat, unless
Already a' be killed with your hard opinions.
English playwright William Shakespeare (1564-1616),
"Second Part of King Henry the Fourth", Act V.

The Secretary